Feed the Curiosity – Self Awareness

I’m not the ideal role model nor am I the hypocrite to tell you to be an extremist when it comes to ethical sourcing. It is a slow steady lifestyle transition but it all starts with curiosity.

Does it matter where I buy my food and where it actually was grown? How does it affect me, the fact that the clothes I wear boost my confidence and define who I am? What about the latest technology? It has made my life efficient and organized, why should I extend the thoughts beyond myself, my peers and my “bubble” of life. I never cared too much. It wasn’t until I received further exposure through the news or general discussions that I started looking at the bigger picture. We learn about life cycles and the web of life when we were in elementary school. We hear that we are only play one miniscule part of this giant world but it doesn’t stem away from the fact that we are intertwined with everything that happens around and to us. Our one action, big or small, ripples somewhere in the world.

There are shows now such as “How It’s Made” or “Unwrapped”. The shows feed our curiosity and enhance our knowledge. At the end of each show, I’m always in awe or happier knowing that I “uncovered the secret” behind how my i.e.) water bottle was made and where the plastic derived from.

Those who work understand how hard it is to make a liveable salary. We constantly search for deals and sales because we’re looking to cut our own costs. We see a t-shirt for $5 on sale and we quickly grab the last one of its size. For most, that is the end of the thought. For me, the self thoughts begin rushing into my head:
How does the company make profit from a $5 t-shirt? How much does it actually cost to make it? Where is it made? (I proceed to look at the tag). Must cost something to ship it from overseas. Is it a machine who sewed this together? Was a person actually hand stitching this shirt? How does that person make a living? Etc….

The thoughts fizzle out and I’m left with my last thought – “I’m sure the company who made this shirt has looked into all of this already and everything is good”.  That very trust and naivety is what will be one factor in the future downfall of mankind. Was it never the greatest feeling when one goes to a farmer’s market and know who was the person who baked the bread or the person who grew the produce in said location? The cost is then justifiable too. Yet, things we see at the grocery stores, the baked goods in packages, the 2 aisles worth of cosmetics – where do they come from? How much profit is actually being made from us, the consumers?

Last thought – I can only control what I purchase and to that, I will learn to be more aware by questioning the facts and remaining forever curious. I hope that you, as the reader, begin to think about what your everyday purchases mean and how it plays in the larger picture. If you don’t know how…start by being curious.

To Ponder On: Each item you see on a daily basis, where was the origin of it? How many people did it take to make it?

Photo Source: Lifehack Quotes

Leave a Reply

